Monday, June 26, 2017

Book Review: The Captive Heart by Michelle Griep

Purchase HERE

Title: The Captive Heart

Author: Michelle Griep

Series: Standalone

Genre: Historical

Audience: Adult


Proper English governess Eleanor Morgan flees to the colonies to escape the wrath of a an angry duke. When the Charles Town family she’s to work for never arrives to collect her from the dock, she is forced to settle for the only reputable choice remaining to her—marriage to a man she’s never met. Trapper and tracker Samuel Heath is a hardened survivor used to getting his own way by brain or by brawn, and he’s determined to find a mother for his young daughter. But finding a wife proves to be impossible. No upstanding woman wants to marry a murderer.

**5 stars**

A thoroughly and delightfully captivating novel. Michelle Griep, please write more books set in this era! ^_^ We had harrowing circumstances. Colonial wilderness. Marriage of convenience. Native Americans. Patriot spies. Tender romance. Deep threads of faith. Danger, drama, humor, and utter sweetness. Fans of Laura Frantz and Lori Benton are sure to love The Captive Heart!

I stayed up late into the night reading of Eleanor Morgan and Samuel Heath. They were such fantastic characters and I enjoyed both of their POVs. Also, baby Grace was so sweet! It was fun, heart-rending, and tender to watch Eleanor and Samuel's relationship develop. And can I just say that I loved that he called her "Red Bird"? So special and unique!
I also adored the secondary characters. They have me desperately hoping that Michelle Griep will continue this as a series with their stories! There's so much potential there. Especially with Biz and the preacher. *laughs*

I had a lovely time imaging what Samuel's cabin in the wilderness looked like, the colonial festivals, and Indian village. Ah, such a historical delight! This era of the mid-to-late 1700s America never fails to intrigue me.

And there was no lack of danger and excitement. The Captive Heart mixes pre-Revolutionary War drama with Native American unrest, colonial wilderness living, marriages of convenience, and wild men who take the law into their own hands ... because there isn't much for law-enforcers. There were so many different angles to this story, making it an amazing ride. I fell into the tale - was transported back to the colonies, year 1770. Where bears and wild Indians roam in your backyard and the punishment for horse-stealing is thirty-five lashes.

Friends of historical romance, especially of the colonial era, you must read this book!

Note: This is about a married couple, and the romance arc does deepen toward the end of the book. I would recommend to adults.

No comments:

Post a Comment